Home

 

I couldn’t find many people that focus on linocutting within children’s illustration, but I did find this article from Creative Bloq. I found a couple of peoples work that I think is interesting but some of the final outcomes don’t all look like linocuts.

http://www.creativebloq.com/illustration/linocut-11410303 (accessed 27th April 2016)

Kazano Kohara is a childrens illustrator that works using linocuts. This book cover works really well because of the simple shapes and the 3 colours used. The colour palette works really well and I am curious about how the transparent like look of the ghosts because they looks as though they are textured, so I would like to use this in my work and somehow include a textured print, but I am not sure how I would go about this.

Screen Shot 2016-06-01 at 12.13.29

Jonny Hannah, although isn’t a childrens’ illustrator, I really like the idea of printing one layer onto a two tone background. This is something that I think would be a good idea to use within my work and would probably work well with more than just the three colours.

Screen Shot 2016-06-01 at 12.19.48

Stanley Dogwood focuses on landscape and seascape scenes and this image stands out to me because of the clean lines in the water, and I think that this would look great as a background for my animal prints to make it easy for children to establish whether it is a land animal or an animal that lives in water. This is something that I will definitely consider using within my project as I think that it would make my animal really stand out.

Screen Shot 2016-06-01 at 12.20.56

Leave a Reply

