Home

Giraffe

IMG_2782

I thought about composition with this image, and as I have so far included the whole body in each of my illustrations so far, and so I thought that changing to just show the head of the grace would keep the interest of the children, as the text will frame the head once it is added. Also, when I scanned in the image it came out quite dark and lost some of the quality and brightness to the colour. I am happy with how it looks with he text completing the composition so far.

IMG_2787

I thought similarly about the composition for the hippopotamus to the giraffe composition because I want to keep the attention of my audience for as long as possible. I do like that the ‘H is for Hippopotamus’ frames the hippo, but I’m not sure if children would find this easy to read or not, but in my experience, children are smarter than we expect them to be because their brain recognises the letters one they know them all, and I also think that this may help them to sound out the word and help them to read it.

IMG_2786

Iguana

I am really pleased with the way that my iguana looks because it is simple, but the scales add a lot of detail, and it looks easy on the eye and is brightly coloured and eye-catching which is exactly what I wanted to achieve in these illustrations.

IMG_2781

Giraffe facts from http://www.animalfactguide.com/animal-facts/giraffe/ (accessed 29th March 2016)

Hippo facts from http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/sciencefacts/animals/hippopotamus.html (accessed 29th March 2016)

Iguana facts from http://www.softschools.com/facts/animals/iguana_facts/279/ (accessed 29th March 2016)

 

Leave a Reply

