Home

I found this illustrator via twitter using the #clr_collective tag, and her work really seems to stand out to me because of her use of colours and composition. What I like about Fleming’s work is that she seems to me to have colour schemes running through each piece of work, which could be related to the Colour Collective challenge, but I think that this is something that works really well within her work and makes me want to see more of it. Her compositions range from busy and bright coloured, to simple with a white background, which contrasts to her colours and makes the drawing feel easy on the eye.

Fleming is represented by Bright Agency, and through this she has become a professional children’s book illustrator. Her clients have included: Frilly Fish Books, Bloomsbury, Little Tiger Press, ABDO Publishing, Igloo Books, Simon & Schuster and more.

One thing I also noticed whilst I was on her website was that the way that it is laid out, and how it compliments her work, but I think that the strips of tape on the tops of the images seem to take away from her work, but I cannot work out why. Here are some screenshots from her website, which show that it easy to navigate around and it is clear how to see what you want to find.

 

Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 17.57.54Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 17.58.07Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 17.58.17Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 17.58.29Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 17.59.06

 

I have also emailed Fleming via her website to ask her some questions about the process she goes through and what medium she uses to create her illustrations.

Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 19.50.51

Fleming was kind enough to read my email and get back to me within the same day with some very useful advice:

Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 19.53.16

Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 20.09.49

I found what Fleming had to say interesting and helpful because she has given me advice on how to start approaching agencies and it was interesting to know that she works digitally, because I am usually more of a fan of hand drawn works, but her style is something that really interests me. I found what she said about browsing book stores for inspiration a good idea as this is something which I have not done.

Leave a Reply

