Home

Upon researching what makes a successful children’s book, I found this page which seemed to be very interesting to me, and relevant to what I am doing for my final major project. The page is about the factors which make up a successful children’s books.

“A good picture book tells a compelling story in thirty-two pages,” said Margaret Anastas,  an editor at Harper Collins Kids, “which is very difficult to do.”

Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 14.03.13Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 14.03.35

http://thewritepractice.com/childrens-book/  (accessed 25th January 2016)

These are all points to consider when finalising my narrative for my FMP, as this would be a good place to start and I will then work the rest of my story around these points.

Another site that I found particularly helpful was this one: http://www.parents.com/fun/entertainment/books/secrets-of-successful-childrens-book-authors/ (accessed 25th January 2016)  because it is from the authors point of view. They make some very important points about communication with the audience.

 

Lynne Chapman who is a very successful illustrator with over 30 published childrens books  has a blog, and so reading the entries, especially this one:

http://lynnechapman.blogspot.co.uk/2010/11/getting-your-work-seen.html (accessed 25th January 2016)

has given me lots to think about when it comes to my illustrations as well as tips to get noticed within the childrens publishing industry.

Leave a Reply

