Home

Holly Swain’s work is a very similar style to the other illustrators that I have researched so far, but this is because I have been doing specific research of this style, because it is my favourite, and I intend to take my work in a similar direction to this because of the black outlines, the bright colours, and simple shapes to create fun illustrations.

The way that Swain has composited her images and text together is something that really stands out to me because it fits around the focus of the illustrations and follows the flow too. This is how I would like my audience to see my finished book and I think that the full bleed of the illustrations is free and open for the viewers development and process a further thought process. The use of the illustrations background colour doubling as text background brings the image and text together, so I will consider this when it comes to the composition of my illustrations and text within my own book.

Here are some examples of her work:

Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 21.58.42Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 21.59.01

http://hollyswain.co.uk

Leave a Reply

