Home

I have tried to get in contact with a few illustrators which I have come across via the #colour_collective challenge on Twitter as well as #animalalphabet and #pinchpunchpost. I have mainly used Twitter to do this or I have used their profile go find their website and contacted them this way. I have contacted people who I like the work of and that are in the children’s book illustration pathway as this is what interests me and what I wish to do for my FMP, so I thought advice would be helpful.

One person I have contacted via Twitter is Jeff Harvey (@jeffharveyart) and my reasons for doing this is because I really like the way that he designs his characters and like the style that he works in as well as the colours he uses. Here are my messages and responses:



I found this pretty helpful as life drawing is definitely something which I would like to do more of and experimenting with my work is something which I feel that I don’t do enough of, so I would like to try and push this further and see what comes of pushing myself out of my comfort zone.

I also contacted @DoodlesMarc who is not an illustrator by just, but as hobby, but his account gets a lot of traffic, so I was curious to see how he manages to increase the amount of people who come across his account.





It was interesting to speak to him as he was telling me about ways to get my work out there. #colour_collective was mentioned again as a good way to show my work as it is easy to find via the hashtag. And I also found that he uses iPad Sketchbook for getting his ideas down. I haven’t really considered working completely digitally, as I prefer the traditional methods, but it is definitely something which I would like to try out. I am going to begin getting   involved with #colour_collective and @animalalphabet challenges as this seems to be a great way to get your work seen by lots of people.

Another person I can’t aren’t was @LynnAlpert to asks about self promotion and she sent me this:


I did find this very useful as @pinocastellano is an art director at Penguin Random House and also the founder of #illusDept and tweets #arttips for people in the industry which can be very useful, and he also follows a lot of interesting illustrators. @SCBWI is also something I now follow thanks to Lynn Alpert because it has up to date news on children’s book writers and illustrations.

I did find this very useful as @pinocastellano is an art director at Penguin Random House and also the founder of #illusDept and tweets #arttips for people in the industry which can be very useful, and he also follows a lot of interesting illustrators. @SCBWI is also something I now follow thanks to Lynn Alpert because it has up to date news on children’s book writers and illustrations.

Leave a Reply

