Home

Upon reading Marshall McLuhan’s The Medium is the Massage, I came across this very interesting quote:

‘In the name of “progress”, our official culture is striving to force the new media to do the work of the old.’ (McLuhan, 1967, p.81)

which got me thinking about how media is not anything new, but what is new is the way that it is consumed by people, and of course what has changed about media to keep up with the changing faces of technology, ignored to make sure that is as convenient as ever to fit into peoples lives. I thought that this would be useful to include in my essay as it backs up some of my thoughts and what I am trying to communicate to my audience.

 

Leave a Reply

