Home

The third piece of convergence culture media what I am going to study is Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland in Ebook form. I will be looking at this using a laptop, and I have downloaded the book from the iBooks Store for free. When I searched for the ebook, there was a lot of variety to choose from, and all different versions of the story, from the classic, to children’s versions, audio books, ebooks with different illustrators, reproductions of story, educational versions etc. There are free ones and also versions that can be paid for. I decided on the first book, as it seemed to be one of the most famous ones, and also it is titled the same; Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. When I searched the iBook store, these are the top hits that the search had returned for me:

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 17.04.46

I also downloaded this ebook for free from the Apple iBook store. Here is the cover of the book, and this is how it is presented on the screen. Like a printed book, you see the cover first, which was illustrated by Peter Newell, unlike the other two case studies that I have looked at, where they had used illustrations by John Tenniel

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 17.09.11

When you open up the ebook, you see two advertisements from the supplier of the iBook store, which you would possibly see when reading a printed book and interactive book. To turn a page you can use one of three methods; by pressing the arrow keys on the keyboard, by sliding your fingers along the trackpad, or using the scroll bar along the bottom which becomes visible when you hover over it.

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 17.21.55 Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 17.22.29 Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 17.22.49 Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 17.23.02 Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 17.23.18

The ebook has the same layout of a normal book, although there is no fold in the middle of the pages. I found that when I turned the page, it flicked between them by sliding along to the left. It also was quite sensitive to page turning and tended to do this its self. Here is a quick screen recording of the page turning:

My experience of this ebook was that it had the original illustrations inside the book from John Tenniel, and it had no colour. The pages are viewed two at a time in this format, and this is quite obviously taken from the layout of a printed book. I do like that the illustrations are fitted in with the text, and that it looks exactly as a book would be, aside from the fact that you have to turn the pages by pushing buttons. I do think that it works nicely visually, but I feel that the magic of reading a book is taken away from it as I am so used to looking at screens, that I feel like I am being forced into reading it, whereas if I read it in book form, then I would feel although I was enjoying it more, and this is just my personal view on it, but the main thing that I didn’t like about it was that it had no colour, and maybe that is because it was published in 1897, and they wanted to keep some elements of the original formats to the book, but I feel that if you make a book into an ebook, then you have the freedom to update the way that the viewer sees the pages of the book, and this would be one of the main reasons that I personally would have for choosing to read an ebook over a printed version.

Leave a Reply

